10: Buddha Hand

One Punch Man. That sure is a show. I loved it from the moment I first watched it (let’s see here. 1:31 am on Thursday… I started it around this time of night two days ago). I’m seven episodes in and started watching it with @thekittymeister, so I’m not going forward right now. I’m still deciding if I’ll watch it by myself and then again with her, or just wait for us to catch up.

But I’m basically willing to watch the same episode twice in a less than 24 hour period. Wow. That doesn’t happen with me, particularly with anime (whose first episodes I either love or hate, generally).

What’s appealing to me about One Punch Man — keeping in mind I’m coming back into watching more than an old anime every so often when we feel like chilling on the couch — is that it has unusual ideas inside the action sequences. Not execution ideas, like shading or framing or anything, but philosophical ones. Since I don’t read too many anime blogs any longer, I haven’t seen anyone else say this (I’m sure they have, somewhere), but Saitama is basically Buddha. He didn’t lose his humanity, as he worries in episode one; he lost the tidal up and down of life that Buddhism does, indeed, seek to escape (I’ve spent the last year reading a lot of Buddhist texts, including The Lotus Sutra, the central sutra to Japanese Buddhism). I’m certain someone’s commented on this just because Saitama’s got the bald egg head. He looks like Buddha (some versions of him, anyway). I’m not trying to say anything impressive, of course, at least not at this moment, but moment 10 is the point at which I recognized new ideas I’ve been reading around for years, but finally actually reading this year.

Leave a Reply

